Goodbye Indianapolis, hello New York

pandamoniumnyc.wordpress.com.</i>

Photos from Saturday night's clashes between police and dancing pandas. Four were arrested.
Source: pandamoniumnyc.wordpress.com.

One week into my New York journey, and I already feel like a veteran on the subway. Of course, when people ask me how to get to the bridge or where some street is, I haven’t a clue. Yet anyway. I’m still adjusting to the fact that this is my home for the next 10 months.

I left Indianapolis with an early sendoff and an interesting story on government-subsidized housing, which is here: Senate Manor tenants take on HUD.

Now I am in New York, starting classes at Columbia and figuring out a neighborhood to cover. Looks like I’m gonna be somewhere in downtown Brooklyn, centered on Boerum Hill, which has a large Arab population. It’s also is on the edge of the proposed Brooklyn Nets stadium that is tangled in a bunch of legal battles with residents. Should be fun.

The biggest realization I’m not in Indianapolis anymore: Last night’s big story: Pandas vs. cops.

Goodtimes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Columbia, Indianapolis Star, Journalism, New York City, School

Leave a Reply

